Ginger Crumblies (dairy, gluten and sugar free)

Sugar free, gluten free dairy free ginger crumblies

Sugar free, gluten free dairy free ginger crumblies

I am expecting guests over the next couple of days, and wanted to have some little treats to offer.

Rather strangely, the past couple of days I’ve been craving ginger bread. I never eat ginger bread, and I’ve never made it but I thought I’d have a go a making a ginger biscuit. Worried that they might be a little crunchy, I added an egg which made them soft, rather more like cake than a biscuit (hence the name). They are however, lovely and the perfect sweet spicy accompaniment to a cuppa. And they got the thumbs up from my guests and my greatest critic, my 3 year old!

Ginger Crumblies

Ingredients:

  • 100g  ground almonds
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, softened
  • 1.5 tbs xylitol
  • 1.5 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened desiccated coconut
  • small pinch salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C
  2. Combine all of the ingredients in a medium bowl, (leaving aside a little coconut for decoration) and mix into a dough
  3. Wrap in  cling film and form into a sausage shape
  4. Chill the batter for 30 minutes in the refrigerator
  5. Once, chilled, remove from the refrigerator and slice into 0.5cm discs
  6. Arrange discs on a greased baking tray (or covered in baking paper)
  7. Sprinkle coconut on each biscuit and bake for 15-20 mins, until browned but soft to touch.
  8. Cool on the baking sheet for 5-10 mins until a little firmer and then cool completely on a wire rack.
  9. They will keep for several days in the fridge.

Next time I will try mixed spice or cinnamon instead of ginger and see how they turn out without adding an egg.

2 comments on “Ginger Crumblies (dairy, gluten and sugar free)

  1. the crumblies are definitely the best sweet treat for a cozy and windy winter day ^^ even though in where I live now, it’s spring but looking at your post, I still crave for some of these babies !!

Leave a Reply

