Gallery

Cauliflower Pancakes

Cauliflower Pancakes

Cauliflower Pancakes (Gluten and dairy free)

I ran out of baking parchment so I couldn’t make cauliflower wraps as I had planned. Improvisation lead to these pancakes instead.

I had shredded a whole cauliflower before I realized the lack of baking parchment and so ended up with a LOT of batter and too long over a hot stove!

(I have halved the amounts of ingredients I used below)

Cauliflower Pancakes (Dairy and Gluten free)

Ingredients (Makes 12-15)

  • half a head of cauliflower
  • 1 courgette, grated
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs, lightly whisked with a fork
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbs onion salt
  • 1 tbs mixed herbs
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tbs grated strong cheese (Optional)
  • 2 tbs buckwheat flour

Direction:

  1. Steam the cauliflower until soft
  2. Just before the cauliflower is done, add the grated courgette to the steamer
  3. Allow the cauliflower and courgette to cool, then using a cheese cloth or clean tea towel, squeeze any excess moisture out
  4. Place in a bowl, and mash with a fork
  5. Add in the garlic, herbs salt, cheese (if using) and seasoning and mix well
  6. Add the egg and mix well
  7. Fold in the flour and using a handheld food blender, blitz until a smooth batter is formed
  8. Cover and leave to stand for 10 mins
  9. Heat a skillet over a high heat and brush with oil
  10. Spoon small amounts of the batter onto the skillet and form into rounds using the back of the spoon
  11. Leave to cook until brown and crunchy on the underside before flipping over
  12. Keep warm in a low heated oven while you make the rest of the pancakes
  13. Enjoy hot (although they keep well in the refrigerator)
8 comments on “Cauliflower Pancakes

    • Hi
      I used dried mixed herbs bought as a ready made mix. But any herbs will do depending on what you’ll eat it with. Basil, oregano and/or thyme would be what I would choose if I was adding individual herbs. I don’t like tasting raw egg which is why I added the cheese, seasoning and herbs first so I could taste it, and when I was happy with the flavour, I added the egg.
      I hope you enjoy them.

  1. Pingback: Hello, this is Cauliflower, your new best friend. | Mainely Forks

Leave a Reply

