Gallery

Quinoa and Buckwheat green chilli Chapatti (gluten free)

Quinoa and Buckwheat Chapatti

Quinoa and Buckwheat Chapatti (gluten free)

With my love of flavour packed food, Indian cuisine is high up on my list of favourites.

When I make a curry I grind my own spices and use fresh herbs and vegetables for delicious layers of authentic taste. And then, I love to scoop it up with a soft warm chapatti (or roti).

Since eating gluten free I have missed chapattis. and so today I decided to see if I could make some out of quinoa and buckwheat flours.  Since these flours do not have the gluten content of traditional dough,I added some arrowroot powder.

I added quinoa flour because I find the taste of buckwheat on its own a little strong.

They were not as soft as I’d have liked but they were a satisfying alternative with a very tasty curry (Turkey and Spinach)

NB: buckwheat is a hard flour, so the roti will not roll out into a round shape. Doesn’t affect the taste though!

Quinoa and Buckwheat Chapatti/Roti (gluten free)
Ingredients:

  • 3 spring onions, finely sliced
  • 1 green chilli, deseeded and finely chopped
  • 40g buckwheat flour
  • 60g quinoa flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt (optional)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil or ghee
  • 200mls warm water
  • Extra buckwheat flour– for rolling and dusting

Directions

  1. Heat a little oil in a pan and fry the onions and chilli till soft
  2. Set aside to cool
  3. In a mixing bowl, mix the flours, arrowroot and salt well.
  4. Add the onions and chilli and a tablespoon of oil and mix together
  5. Add water a little at a time till a soft dough is formed. It will be a little sticky but will be fine after rolling out with a little flour
  6. Divide the dough into two, shape into round patties and wrap in cling film.
  7. Leave to rest in the refrigerator for 30 mins
  8. Take a golf ball sized piece of dough and on a lightly floured (buckwheat) surface, gently roll out each patty to a thin chapatti
  9. Heat a non-stick pan on a medium heat
  10. Rub off any excess flour and place the chapatti into the pan.
  11. Flip over once bubbles appear on the surface
  12. Cook on each side for about a minute
  13. Meanwhile, turn the next ring on the stove to a high heat
  14. Using tongs, place the chapatti on the open flame. It will balloon up
  15. Remove immediately, place on a plate and cover to keep warm while you cook the rest of the chapattis
  16. If you wish, you can smear each chapatti with butter or ghee
  17. Best served warm but they do keep well wrapped in the fridge
2 comments on “Quinoa and Buckwheat green chilli Chapatti (gluten free)

  1. That meal makes me feel hungry. I have just woken up and my stomach is empty. I think it must have tasted really nice. Thanks for making me even hungrier. Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

