Gallery

Gluten free ‘Bread-in-a-pan’. (Buckwheat and Quinoa flour bread)

Gluten free 'Bread-in-a-pan'

Gluten free ‘Bread-in-a-pan’


I have to say I don’t miss eating bread as much as I thought I would living gluten and yeast free, but I do miss the convenience of bread for a meal in a hurry.

I was watching a food programme the other day that was documenting the history of food in the UK. One of the dishes mentioned was yorkshire pudding, was orginally made in a pan, over the fire. It got me thinking that I could make some bread that way and so I gave it a try.

I used pesto and rosemary to flavour my bread, but look forward to trying other ingredients.

It was a little spongy but it tasted great, was ready literally in minutes.

It kept well for the two days that it lasted too!

I ate mine with hummus but any filling of choice will do.

Gluten free ‘Bread-in-a-pan’

Ingredients:

  • 150g buckwheat flour
  • 100g quinoa flour
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbs probiotic natural yoghurt (or 200mls almond milk and 1 tsp lemon juice for a dairy free option)
  • 1 tbs pesto
  • 1 tsp chopped rosmary
  • pinch salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 0.5 tsp baking powder

Directions:

  1. Mix together all the ingredients in a bowl or jug and season to taste
  2. Heat a frying pan or skillet over a medium heat and brush with oil
  3. When the pan is hot, stir the baking powder in to the batter and pour into the pan
  4. Cook until brown on the underside (at least 5 mins) and carefully flip over and cook on the other side
  5. Cool on a wire rack and slice to serve
4 comments on “Gluten free ‘Bread-in-a-pan’. (Buckwheat and Quinoa flour bread)

  1. Pingback: Roasted Tomato and Basil Chili Jam (sugar free) | Tolu's Kitchen

  2. Hi Helen I tried this recipe but it all fell apart! Before cooking the batter seemed very dry and didn’t hold together. I followed quantities, the only change I made was that instead of using quinoa flour which I didn’t have, I used 50g potato flour and 50g gram flour. Is the raw batter usually quite wet? Should it have fat in the raw batter (e.g. butter or coconut oil?)

    • Yes the batter is wet. Like a thick pancake batter. I don’t use potato flour at all but I do know that it absorbs a lot a liquid and so the quantities would need to be very different I think. To a lesser extent the same is true with gram flour. With the recipe it didn’t need any fat it came out spongy and not dry.

      In the times I have redone this bread I have found that using yoghurt rather than almond milk+ lemon juice made a much better texture too

  3. Thanks Helen that’s really helpful! I’m learning a lot about food on this journey. I’ll maybe try and get some quinoa flour, or adapt the recipe with more liquid and experiment a bit so that I can use up ingredients in cupboard.

Leave a Reply

