Gallery

Green and Pink Breakfast Smoothies

smoothies1

Breakfast Smoothies


For the past few weeks I’ve been having alkaline vegetable smoothies at least once a day. They are filling, refreshing and give me such a boost of energy. The boy calls them my

‘gloopy-gloop’ but he love them too and shares them with me at breakfast time.

I have experimented on taste with adding different fruit and vegetables, herbs and spices, and have included the recipes for two of my favourites so far.

And the photos are not colour popped – the colours really are that gorgeous!!

I’d love to hear of any favourite recipes that you have.

Almond Banana smoothie (the green one)

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana mashed
  • 200mls almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Juice of half lemon
  • 1 tbs ground almond (optional: I add for bulk when I need to)
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1tbs chia seeds
  • Iced water or ice blocks
  • I sometimes add mixed spice for a gingerbread flavour which is also delicious

DIrections:

  1. Add the first six ingredients to a blender and blend
  2. Stir in the chia seeds, any spices, and the ice
  3. Pour into a glass and enjoy immediately.

Ginger beetroot Smoothie (the pink one)

Ingredients:

  • Juice of 1 grapefruit (pink)
  • 1 beetroot (peeled and finely grated)
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 0.3 cucumber, grated
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1 Tbs frozen red Berries, (optional)
  • I tsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 200mls almond milk,
  • 1tbs chia seeds
  • Iced water or ice blocks

DIrections:

  1. Add the first eight ingredients to a blender and blend
  2. Stir in the chia seeds and the ice
  3. Pour into a glass and enjoy immediately.

smoothies2 smoothies3

2 comments on “Green and Pink Breakfast Smoothies

Leave a Reply

