Gallery

Quick gluten free Flat breads

flatbreads

I’ve been experimenting with these for a while, using different combinations of gluten free flour. I have also been experimenting with some shop bought gluten free self raising flour. I’m not that keen on the texture that comes from the potato flour in gluten free flour blends and have tended to avoid them. In these flatbreads however, it adds softness without being cloying. I also added some some chickpea (gram) flour (which is why they look slightly yellow) and some buckwheat flour.

They are not dairy free because I used yoghurt for the fat element, but I’m going to try them with oil and see what the difference is.

They are quick to make too, which is why I am experimenting for the perfect recipe. It would be one I use often, to go with soup, hummus, fish pate or spicy minced meat and salad.

Anyway, I will continue my pursuit of the perfect gluten free flat bread.

I flavored these with garlic and basil and a herby butter. They are soft and made a tasty accompaniment to the pesto chicken and roasted vegetables we had for dinner.

pestochicken

Quick gluten free Flat breads

Ingredients:

  • 50 Gluten Free self raising flour plus extra for dusting
  • 100 gram flour
  • 50g buckwheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda (gluten free)
  • 1.5 tsp garlic powder
  • 0.5 tsp paprika
  • 0.3 tsp salt
  • 150g natural yoghurt
  • 1 tbs fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 tbs butter


Directions:

 

  1. In a bowl, mix together all the ingredients except the butter into a soft dough.
  2. Cover and leave to sit for 20-30 mins
  3. Lightly dust your rolling surface and taking golf ball sized pieces of dough, roll into rounds approximately 5mm thick.
  4. Use a sharp knife to make 4 or 5 score marks across the rolled dough leaving half and inch at either end
  5. Repeat with the rest of the dough (should make approx 8 flatbreads)
  6. Heat a griddle pan over a medium heat
  7. Cook the flatbread until golden brown on either side and brush with melted butter (I used homemade herb butter (basil and garlic) for extra flavour but any will do)
  8. Serve immediately.
  9. Enjoy!

flatbread

One comment on “Quick gluten free Flat breads

  1. Pingback: Pesto Chicken and Garlic Roasted Vegetables | Tolu's Kitchen

Leave a comment